Home > City Hall > Mayor & City Council

Mayor & City Council

The City Council is responsible to the citizens of Sand City for the proper and orderly government of the City and is directly elected by the registered voters of Sand City. As the legislative body, the Council enacts the laws and establishes the policies which govern the many activities of the City.

The Council is composed of five members elected at large to staggered terms. Councilmember terms last for four years, though the Mayoral term is only for two years. The Council appoints the City Administrator, City Attorney, and members of advisory committees. The Council chooses one of its members as Vice-Mayor, who presides at the Council meetings in the absence of the Mayor.

The Council receives recommendations on proposed legislation from the Mayor, the City Administrator, department heads, various committees and the general public. In each legislative enactment, comments from citizens and organizations are heard and considered.

The Council is also responsible for adopting the City’s annual budget and authorizes the expenditure of funds for items in the budget. Plans and specifications for public works are approved by the City Council.


Mary Ann Carbone

Phone: 831-394-3054
Email: maryann@sandcityca.org
Personnel & Budget Committee

Jerry Blackwelder

Phone: 831-917-6227
Email: jerry@sandcityca.org
Coastal Committee, Personnel &
Budget Committee and
Public Safety Committee

Craig Hubler

Council Member
Phone: 831-917-6226
Email: craig@sandcityca.org
Housing Committee / Art Committee

Gregory Hawthorne

Council Member
Phone: 831-884-3949
Email: GHawthorne@sandcityca.org
Design Review Committee


Kristen McDaniel

Council Member
Phone: 831-884-3978

City Hall : 1 Pendergrass Way, Sand City, CA 93955
Administration Office: (831) 394-3054 - Fax: (831) 394-2472
Copyright 2016 All Rights Reserved